13th NVD at Namchi District

Publish Date : 28/01/2023

Namchi, 25th January (IPR): Alongwith the rest of the country 13th National Voters Day (NVD) was celebrated at the conference hall of District Administrative Centre, Namchi, today. Organized by Election Cell (Namchi) had the presence of DC (Namchi) Mr. M. Bharani Kumar, ADC (Namchi) Mr. Anant Jain, Deputy Secretary (Elections) Ms. Bhumika Chettri, staffs and Booth Level Officers of AC 11 Namchi Singithang.
The theme for this year’s NVD is ‘Nothing Like Voting, I Vote for Sure’, is dedicated to voters which conveys individual’s feeling and aspiration towards participation in the electoral process through power of their vote.
Addressing, the gathering DC Mr. M. Bharani Kumar spoke about the importance of 13th National Voters Day and informed about this year’s theme alongwith a brief historical background on NVD. Dedicated to the voters across the country, the day is utilized to spread awareness among voters the DC said and emphasized that every single vote matters. In, this regards he urged the attendees to make informed participation and promote the electoral process. He further underlined the efficient engagement of officials; they are instrumental in facilitating for the smooth conduct of Elections. Moreover, he cited an example of a 97 year old voter, he casted his vote during the recently concluded Panchayat Elections and informed the gathering particularly the youths to draw inspiration from him and enthusiastically take part during the Elections.
ADC (Namchi) Mr. Anant Jain presented a detailed welcome address wherein he informed that National Voter’s Day is celebrated on January 25 every year since 2011. The main purpose of this celebration is to encourage and maximize enrolment, especially for the new voters.
During the course of the programme a Video Message of Chief Election Commissioner (Election Commission of India) Shri Rajiv Kumar was played. Similar, video message of District Icon and football star Mr. Nirmal Chettri was also broadcasted.
Awards were also given to various well performing officials during the election process they were namely Mr. Anant Jain (ADC, Namchi) AC 10- Poklok Kamrang, Best AERO Mr. Mukesh Dahal (BDO, Nandugaon) AC 10- poklok kamrang, Best Supervisors are as follows Mr. Nawang Sandup Bhutia, Mr. Suman Sharma, Mr. Saran Pradhan and the Best BLOs were Ms. Kopila Subba, Ms. Maccamit Lepcha and Mr. Kul Bahadur Tamang. During the function, 14 newly enrolled voters were also felicitated and handed over their Elector Photo Identity Card (EPIC).
An ECI song- “Main Bharat Hoon- Hum Bharat Ke Matdata Hain” produced by ECI in association with Subhash Ghai Foundation, was also screened. The song brings forth the power of vote and celebrates the spirit of inclusive, accessible, ethical, participative and festive elections in the largest and most vibrant democracy of the world.