Administrative History

The South District (now Namchi district) has a Administrative District, as its beginning, only from 1963. Before that it was a part of West Zone (region) as Sikkim State was divided in two administrative zone – East zone and West zone. Every zone was under the control of Revenue Officer appointed by Chogyal(the then king) of Sikkim and the administration of justice was in the hand of Tribal Authority like Zonepal at the district, Zone level, Yaplas Feudal Landlord, Pipon(head men), Mandal head etc. The revenue of the land used to be collected and augmented by the Yaplas to deposit in states khazana which was most of the time in terms of food grain and some agriculture based articles.

The concept of district, first time appeared only in the year 1963 when East zone was bifurcated from the East and North District and the West zone was in West District and the South District. Hence the South District came into existence as a modern administrative district only in 1963 by an order of the king on 1st April 1963 and Mr. R.B. Mukhia was appointed as first District Officer of the south District. The District Officer was given all administrative power on behalf of the king though the authority of Zonepal and Yaplas was still prevailing. In 1973 the term District Collector was used first time for the District Officer. Mr. P.K. Pradhan is believed to be first District Collector of South District.

Sikkim Darbar Gazettee Notification No 3/H (PDF 97.4 KB)

After the merger of Sikkim in India the District Collector was designated as District Magistrate and the District Collector was conferred with the powers provided in criminal procedures of 1898. Mr. Mingma Tshering was the first Collector and District Magistrate of the South District. The order of Precedence of the District Officer, District Collectors and District Magistrates is as follows:

District Officers
Sl. No Name Tenure From Tenure To
1 Mr.R.B.Mukhia Not available ­Not available
2 Mr. Tulsi Psd. Sharma Not available Not available
3 Mr. Riwan Lepcha Not available Not available
District Collectors
Sl. No Name Tenure From Tenure To
1 Mr.P.K.Pradhan Not available Not available
2 Mr. Sonam Wangdi Not available Not available
3 Mingma Tshering Not available Not available
4 Mr.Nari Tshering, IAS Not available Not available
District Magistrates
Sl. No Name Tenure From Tenure To
1 Mr.R.S.Basnett,IAS 1st April 1977 Sep-78
2 Mr.S.W.Tenzing,IAS Sep-78 Jun-80
3 Mr.Nari Tshering,IAS Jun-80 Jul-82
4 Ms. C.K. Cintury,IAS Jul-82 Sep-82
5 Mr.G.K.Subba, IAS Sep-82 Jun-84
6 Mrs.Rinzing Ongmu,IAS Jun-84 Jul-85
7 Mr.R.S.Shrestha,IAS Jul-85 22.9.1985
8 Mr. L.B.Rai,IAS 23.9.1985 28.2.1990
9 Miss B.M.Singh,IAS 01.03.1990 29.02.1992
10 Mr.S.C.Gupta,IAS 01.03.1992 29.06.1992
11 Mr.Topzor Dorjee,SCS 30.06.1992 04.05.1993
12 Mr.G.Goperma, SCS 05.05.1993 08.11.1993
13 Mr.V.B.Pathak,IAS 09.11.1993 23.11.1993
14 Mr. S.C.Gupta, IAS 24.11.1993 22.09.1994
15 Mr.Bhagwan Shankar,IAS 23.09.1994 26.09.1996
16 Miss Upama Srivastava, IAS 27.09.1996 03.12.1996
17 Mr.S.K.Gautam,SCS 04.12.1996 17.11.1997
18 Mr.LhendupDorjee,SCS 18.11.1997 02.09.2001
19 Mr.K.Srinivasulu,IAS 03.09.2001 06.04.2003
20 Mr.Vishal Chauhan,IAS 07.04.2003 31.01.2007
21 Mr.D.Anandan,IAS 01.02.2007 20.06.2009
22 Mr.A.K.Singh,IAS 21.06.2009 31.01.2013
23 Mr.Prabhakar,IAS 01.02.2013 17.11.2014
24 Mr.Raj Kumar Yadav,IAS 17.11.2014 12.04.2018
25 Mr.Prabhakar,IAS 16.04.2018 23.02.2019
26 Mr. Ragul K, IAS 25.02.2019 2020
27 Mr. M. Bharani Kumaar, IAS 2020